Skip to main content

Cast Announced for ABC drama Bay of Fires

Marta Dusseldorp leads an impressive line-up of established and emerging stars, when filming starts 20 June in Tasmania, on ABC’s eight-part darkly
comedic crime series Bay of Fires, produced by Archipelago Productions and Fremantle Australia.
Starring alongside Marta is acclaimed actress Kerry Fox (Conversations with Friends), Toby Leonard Moore (Billions), Rachel House (Stateless), Yael Stone (Orange is the New Black), Tony Barry (Harrow), Heather Mitchell (Love Me), Oscar Redding (The Twelve), Bob Franklin (Please Like Me) Kim Ko (Wentworth) and Rhys Muldoon (Les Norton).

Rounding out the cast are rising stars Imi Mbedla (Australia’s Got Talent), Ava Caryofyllis (Dirt Music), Ilai Swindells (Retrograde), Mackenzie Grant (The Next Step) and newcomer Mitchem Everett.

ABC’ s Head of Drama, Entertainment and Indigenous Sally Riley says, “Featuring a brilliant cast led by the multi-talented Marta Dusseldorp and the off-kilter humour of Andrew Knight, riveting storylines and filmed against the stunningly beautiful backdrop of Tasmania’s west coast, ABC audiences will be captivated by Bay of Fires.”
Showcasing Tasmania’s rugged west coast, Bay of Fires, tells the story of Stella Heikkinen (Marta Dusseldorp), a single mother of two, who finds herself in a small, remote community. But it’s not the kind of place they put on postcards – it is instead rife with simmering feuds, crime and sometimes, murder.

Co-creator and producer Marta Dusseldorp says, “I’m beyond thrilled to be bringing this series to life in my home state of Tasmania, the cast and creative team we have assembled are extraordinary and I look forward to producing a captivating and an original Tassie noir series.”

The award-winning creative team includes co-creator/writers Andrew Knight (Jack Irish) and Max Dann (Spotswood). Directors Natalie Bailey (Retrograde, The Unusual Suspects) and Wayne Blair (Total Control).

Bay of Fires is an Archipelago Productions and Fremantle Australia
production for the ABC. Major production investment from Screen Australia in association with the ABC and Screen Tasmania, with support from VicScreen.

Producers Marta Dusseldorp and Yvonne Collins. Executive Producers Greg Sitch, Andrew Knight and Brett Popplewell. ABC Executive Producers Sally Riley and Louise Smith. Fremantle will distribute the series internationally.